University Council


Membership List
Meeting Schedule
Minutes Archives

President’s Office

Dec. 4, 2014

A meeting of the University Council was held on Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 3 p.m. at the Larrick Student Center.

The following members and alternates were present:

Officers: Michael Rao, John Wiencek

Administration: William Decatur, Cecil Drain, Angela Duncan, Marti Heil, Pamela Lepley, Wanda Mitchell, Luke Schultheis, Niraj Verma, Quincy Byrdsong, Alex Henson, John Olmschneider

Faculty: Holly Alford, Kyungeh An, Cristina Bares, Carrie Connolly, John Cyrus, Dave Dixon, Hani El-Kaderi, David Fauri, Stephanie Goldberg, Chris Jackson, Paula Kupstas, Allen Lee, Jeffrey Legg, Alison Montipetit, June Nicholson, Fay Parpart, Supathorn Phongikaroon, Faye Prichard, Scott Street, Brian Verrelli, Wei Zhang, Shijun Zhang, Jose Alcaine, Josh Galligan

Classified staff: Valerie Carter, Christine Costello, Jennifer Elswick, Stacy Garnett, Sonia Marcoccia, Pamela Mason, Katherine Poarch, Eileen Truax, Valarie Tucker-Battle, Lauren Katchuk, Eleanor Sharp

Postdoctoral students: Adele Doperalski

Students: Mariam Azim, Carley Langley, Destinee Moragne, Sagar Shah, Suraj Telhan, Will Thompson

Guests: Maike Philipsen, Lex Tartaglia, Jayaraman Vijayakumar, Matt Conrad, Michelle Wise, John McNeil, Linda Birtley, Elizabeth Woodhead, Ann Nichols-Casebolt, Daynon Smith, Daniel Woodward, Brian Shaw, Raina Fields, Reuban Rodriguez, Juanita Sharpe

Items for Action

Previous meeting minutes
Minutes of a meeting held November 6, 2014: Approved.

President’s Report
President Rao touched on the issue of compensation and stressed that the issue has and will remain on the forefront of conversations between Dr. Rao, Bill Decatur and John Wiencek. The budget model conversation continues to take place on campus. Dr. Rao said there are heavy investments that need to be made now, but we have to make sure we have a tighter link between the mission and vision of the organization and making sure we have the resources to support the university appropriately.

Dr. Rao also noted the many advancements that have been made over the past 5 1/2 years. For example, the Division for Inclusive Excellence was established and we have seen advancements and changes in development since Marti Heil has come on board. He also stressed that we need to have a fair share of infrastructure as a research institution. Part of where we are lacking is with the total square footage available.

Finally, Dr. Rao noted the search for a new provost and asked that everyone provide feedback because it is important to know what people in the campus community think. Ultimately, this will be someone with whom we all have a relationship with.

For Approval (Consent Items) – All items approved

Minutes of a meeting held November 6, 2014: Dr. RaoApproved

Proposal to Create a New Doctor of Nursing Practice Degree in the School of Nursing: Ann HamricApproved

Policy Revision on University Approval Levels Guide: Juanita SharpeApproved

Policy Proposal for Compliance with U.S. Export Control Laws: Frank Macrina and Susan RobbApproved

Policy Proposal for Compliance with NSF and NIH Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) Training Requirements: Frank Macrina and Susan RobbApproved

Proposal to Close Two Post-Baccalaureate Graduate Certificates: Transportation Planning and Analytics and Planning Information Systems from the Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs: Sarah BrubakerApproved

For Review

Updated Conduct of Human Subjects Research Policy: Frank Macrina and Sue Robb
Sue Robb was there to answer any questions regarding the policy. There weren’t any questions on the floor.

Updated Principal Investigator Eligibility Policy: Frank Macrina and Sue Robb
Sue Robb was there to present and answer any questions on the policy. There weren’t any questions on the floor.

Proposal to repurpose and rename the Institute for Structural Biology, and Drug Discovery and Development: Frank Macrina and Umesh Desai
Umesh Desai was there to present the policy and answer any questions. There weren’t any questions on the floor.

Items For Information

Expansion of the University’s Non-Discrimination Statement: Wanda Mitchell
Dr. Mitchell spoke to the Council about the expansion of the policy to include gender identity. They are also looking at the non-discrimination policy to have it vetted through various groups.

The meeting adjourned at 3:35.

Virginia Commonwealth University | President’s Office
University Council Minutes
910 West Franklin Street
P.O. Box 842512
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2512
Phone: (804) 828-1200
Contact us
Date last modified: 02/18/2015